JAM | Apr 30, 2023

Cabinet approves JRC and JDIC board appointments

/ Our Today

Reading Time: 2 minutes

New board appointed for Public Procurement Commission

Public Procurement Commission

Cabinet has approved a revision to the board of two key government agencies to ensure effective governance of the state institutions.

The two government agencies in question are the Jamaica Racing Commission (JRC) and the Jamaica Deposit Insurance Corporation (JDIC)

The political executive endorsed the appointment of Doreen Buchanan and Charles Heholt to the JRC Board with effect from April 17, 2023 to October 3, 2024, when the Board’s tenure is slated to expire. Appointments were also approved for the JDIC Board of Management for two years, effective April 4, 2022 to April 3, 2024. 

These include Herbert Hylton, Linda Wright-Ashley, and Blondell Walker. The Cabinet submission further recommended that the existing appointed members continue to serve until 2024.

Meanwhile, several persons were endorsed by Cabinet for appointment to the Public Procurement Commission’s Board of Commissioners by the Governor-General for a period of four years.

They are Lisa Diana Rhooms, Sacha Lawrence Rose, Raymond Cooper and Vernon Barrett. This is in accordance with the effective date as specified in the Instrument of Appointment.

Existing members, Raymond McIntyre and David Barrett would continue to serve up until the 31st of March 2024 and the 17th of May 2024, respectively.


What To Read Next