
By Gavin Riley in Beijing
Nestled near the heart of the capital, China’s Forbidden City stands testament to a rich and mythical historical legacy dutifully preserved over the centuries.
Caribbean journalists participating in the second leg of the China International Press Communication Center (CIPCC) 2024 Programme were afforded an in-depth tour of the iconic palace amid the millions of locals and tourists who flock to the heavily trafficked landmark annually.
Susan Su, a teacher at the Beijing Language Center for Diplomatic Missions (LCC), explained that the 604-year-old palace was once home to 24 emperors between the Ming and Qing dynasties.

Known in Mandarin as Zijincheng at the height of its political prominence, the palatial complex was considered a divine place in ancient times as a reflection of the emperor, son of heaven. ‘Ordinary people’ were not allowed to step foot inside, hence why Forbidden City stuck as its name.
Construction of the Forbidden City began in 1406 under the command of Ming Dynasty Emperor Yongle, who seized rule for himself after deposing his nephew. To consolidate this newly acquired power, Yongle moved the Chinese capital from Nanking to Beijing—and contracted over 100,000 craftsmen and one million labourers to build a mammoth fortress.
Completed in 1420, the Forbidden City covered an area of 188 acres and boasted a comprehensive floor space exceeding 150,000 sq/m.

Its last ruler, Emperor Puyi, was expelled near the climax of the Chinese Revolution in 1924, after which a palace museum was conceptualised and later reopened to the public.
Three times larger than the Louvre in Paris, it stands as the largest palace and wooden structure anywhere in the world, a distinction unique to the Forbidden City as no nails or screws were ever used. Instead, palatial buildings and roofing were held together by ornately painted brackets, which later included beams and other support structures.
Erected exclusively from the lumber of the rare nanmu tree, the palace was razed by fire at least three times and reconstructed over its 604-year history.

Forbidden City comprises three distinct sections: defences, which include the surrounding moat and walls that tower 10 metres high; the outer court, used for ceremonial purposes; and the inner court, which served as the official residence of the emperor and his family.
The tour began at Meridian Gate, now the singular entry point into the palace, which boasts three entrances. The central opening was once exclusively used only by the ruling emperor.

Journalists were then led along a promenade through the Outer Court, past the Hall of Supreme Harmony, which once hosted grand ceremonies—the last major event being Japan’s surrender to end World War II in Asia on September 18, 1945. Another key structure in this area is the Hall of Preserving Harmony, used for banquets and imperial examinations.
Buildings dedicated to the emperor are adorned with golden dragon emblems, while those for the empress (or favoured concubines) bear the sigil of a phoenix.

Entering deeper into the Forbidden City, visitors bear witness to the majestic Palace of Heavenly Purity in the Inner Court—the emperor’s audience hall where the throne is closed off to the general public—guarded by Chinese military personnel.
From the onset, it is evident that the palace holds a special place in the hearts of Chinese visitors, many of whom come with dedicated tour guides and treat the Forbidden City experience as a pilgrimage to the storied history of China.

Forbidden City welcomes over 14 million visitors every year, signalling its importance not just to Chinese nationals but to Beijing’s burgeoning touristic and cultural appeal.
Continuing on the tour, visiting Caribbean media passed through the Palace of Union and Peace, the Palace of Earthly Tranquility and the immaculately maintained Imperial Garden before exiting through the Gate of Divine Prowess.
Comments