JM | Jan 24, 2023

Nine educators shortlisted for Principal and Teacher of the Year

/ Our Today

Reading Time: 2 minutes
Herbert Morrison Technical High School’s Kevin Coke (centre) beams after being named the Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Teacher of the Year. Proudly presenting the award were Lascelles Chin (left), founder and executive chairman of the LASCO Affiliated Companies and Dr Grace McLean (right), then acting permanent secretary of the education ministry on December 2, 2019.

The LASCO Chin Foundation, the Ministry of Education and Youth (MoEY) and the Jamaica Teaching Council (JTC) will, on February 3, honour outstanding educators, nine of whom have been selected as finalists for the LASCO/MoEY/JTC 2022 Principal and Teacher of the Year awards.

Inspired by their drive to innovate and adapt in a constantly evolving learning environment the finalists, selected from six regions, include: Jody Brown, Morant Bay Primary; Patrice Graham Kelly, Sydney Pagon, STEM Academy; and Suzan Hart, George Headley Primary, who have all been nominated in the Teachers category.

Dwayne Mulgrave, Discovery Bay High; Cheryl Grant-Mitchell, Anchovy Primary and George Goode, Old Harbour Primary are nominated in the Principals category.


Gina Mullings, St Catherine High; Nyokia Sewell Powell, Troy High; and Sasha Pennicooke, Horace Clarke High, emerged as nominees in the Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) category. 

Overall, 130 educators will be recognised and awarded for their outstanding work and contribution to the profession. 

In line with this year’s theme ‘Embracing Excellence in a Changing Environment’, LASCO continues to embrace its calling as a key investor in the social and economic fabric of Jamaica.

Jacinth Hall-Tracey (left), managing director at LASCO Financial Services Limited, joins Lascelles Chin (right), founder and executive chairman of LASCO Affiliated Companies, in congratulating (from left) Bhagya Malladi, newly crowned LASCO/MoEYI 2019-20 Teacher of the Year and Lynton Weir, Principal of the Year on Monday, December 2, 2019.

According to Professor Rosalea Hamilton, CEO of the LASCO Chin Foundation: “LASCO and the Ministry of Education and Youth have a shared vision of a better Jamaica uplifted by an empowered, driven and adaptive education system. Now more than ever we believe it is necessary to uplift our nation’s educators by honouring them for their selfless and vital works.”

The awardees of the 2022 Teacher and Principal of the Year awards will receive cash and a host of prizes; inclusive of an all-expense paid trip to the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development Conference in Denver, Colorado. All finalists will take home trophies and an array of gift baskets.

For just over two decades, LASCO and the Education Ministry have been recognising outstanding educators for their impact on education in Jamaica as well as for displaying exceptional contributions to the school community.


What To Read Next