JAM | May 12, 2023

12 new board directors appointed to INSPORTS

Tamoy Ashman

Tamoy Ashman / Our Today

Reading Time: < 1 minute
Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, Olivia Grange. (Photo: JIS)

The Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, Olivia Grange, has announced the appointment of 12 new Board of Directors to Institute of Sports Limited (INSPORTS).

Grange in a release issued today (May 12) said the new directors will serve for a period of one year effective May 1.

The members are: Newton Amos, Chairman, Ian Forbes, Deputy Chairman, Ronald Anderson, Vishwanauth Tolan, Dr Michelle Holt, Dr Lee Martin, Allan Beckford, Glen Nelson, Emile Spence, Shirley McLean Brown, Suzzette IsoN and Major Desmon Brown, ex officio (Interim Executive Director of Insports).

The announcement of the new board comes less than a month after reports that a $222-million fraud occurred at the institute.

The suspected fraud and other irregularities were detected by INSPORTS in 2017 during an examination of INSPORT’s financial records. The matter was then reported to the Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Agency (MOCA) triggering an investigation.

Six persons have since been arrested in relation to the fraud scandal, inclusive of popular party promoter Andrew Wright.

They are charged with various offences including conspiracy to defraud; acquisition, use and possession of criminal property; engaging in transactions involving criminal property; and larceny as a servant.


What To Read Next