Sport and Entertainment
JAM | May 21, 2023

Reggae Girlz depart for 2023 CONCACAF Women’s U20 Championship

/ Our Today

Reading Time: 2 minutes
Jamaica’s Reggae Girlz

The technical staff has selected the final list of Under-20 players who will represent Jamaica at the 2023 CONCACAF Women’s U20 Championship in the Dominican Republic from May 22 to June 3.

They departed for the championship on Saturday. The two finalists and the third-place match winner will qualify for next year’s FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Eight teams will contest the championship and they are divided into two groups as follows:

Group A: United States, Canada, Jamaica, and Panama.

Group B: Mexico, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, and Dominican Republic.

Reggae Girlz captain Khadija Shaw celebrates scoring her second goal against Haiti in Group A of the CONCACAF Women’s Championships on Monday, July 11, 2022. The match, played at the Estadio BBVA in Monterrey, Mexico ended 4-0 in favour of the Jamaicans, confirming their qualification to the Women’s World Cup. (Photo:

After round-robin play, the two best teams from each group (four in total) will advance to the competition’s knockout stage. All knockout stage matches (semi-finals, third-place match, and final) will be played in a single-match elimination format, with the two finalists and the third-place match winner qualifying for next year’s FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Matches will be divided across two venues, Estadio Felix Sanchez (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) and Estadio Panamericano (San Cristobal, Dominican Republic).
The United States is the current champion (seventh title overall) of the CWU20 after defeating Mexico 2-0 in the 2022 Final.

The full squad is: Andrene Smith, Shaneil Buckley, Una Moy Lue, Davia Richards, Liha Williams, Taijah Fraser, Tiny Seaton, Kaitlyn Ennis, Natoya Atkinson, Destiny Powell, Akeila Johnson, Janiel Mignott, Amelia Zanten, Liya Brooks, Avery Johnson, Maya Raghunandanan, Anaiyah Roninson, Njeri Butts, Njerl Lewis, Katie Oakley.


What To Read Next