Sport & Entertainment
USA | Jun 13, 2023

Denver Nuggets win their first NBA title in franchise history

/ Our Today

Reading Time: < 1 minute
(image source: NBA on Instagram)

After being pushed to game five in the 2023 NBA playoffs, the Denver Nuggets emerged as first-time winners of the NBA championships.

Battling foul trouble and valiant opponents in a Miami Heat team that refused to let up, Nikola Jokic amassed 28 points, 16 rebounds and four assists in a 94-89 victory.

Jokic, who received all votes in the Finals MVP voting, concluding a historic playoff run for the seven feet tall Serbian and his Denver teammates.

As a two-time regular-season MVP and now champion, Jokic joins a list of basketball greats that includes Bob Pettit, Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Moses Malone, Larry Bird, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Tim Duncan, LeBron James, Stephen Curry, and Giannis Antetokounmpo.

We can go home now.

Nikola Jokic, 2023 NBA Finals MVP

“The job is done. We can go home now,” Jokic said on the postgame broadcast.

Send feedback to [email protected]


What To Read Next