JM | Dec 10, 2020

New 12-member Jamaica Tourist Board appointed

/ Our Today

Reading Time: 2 minutes

New board to bring keen insight, know-how to table during as global pandemic continues to impact world tourism

John Lynch, chairman of the Jamaica Tourist Board.

Tourism veteran John Lynch has been reappointed to lead a new-look 12-member strong Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB), which is responsible for marketing Jamaica as a tourism destination.

The new board chaired by Lynch held its first meeting in Montego Bay, St. James last week, having been appointed by Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett on November 2 to serve for a two-year term.

The new JTB board will play a pivotal role in guiding the local tourism sector through the challenging COVID-19 period in world travel and tourism which has seen a total shut down of world tourism that is slowly opening up.

In issuing his charge to the new JTB board, Bartlett said he was pleased with the new appointments.

“I believe the new executive body represents a mix of key industry sectors and brings together a wealth of experience and knowledge about the tourism industry,” Bartlett said.

He said he was confident that the new JTB board would bring to the table some keen insight and know-how during the global pandemic, as Jamaica looks to ensure the survival and sustainability of its tourism sector and be ready for the eventual recovery of the industry.

Newly appointed JTB Board Directors:

  • John Lynch, Chairman
  • John Byles, Deputy Chairman
  • Nicola Madden Greig, Director
  • Bertam Wright, Director
  • Adam Stewart, Director
  • Clifton Reader, Director
  • Josef Forstmayr, Director
  • Fred Smith, Director
  • Philipp Hoffer, Director
  • Hyacinth Lightbourne, Director
  • Tanikie McClarthy Allen, Director
  • Donovan White, Director of Tourism (ex-officio)


What To Read Next